Kronos Quartet

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


Grammy Award Winners KRONOS QUARTET with support by Julianna Barwick

San Francisco’s Kronos Quartet featuring David Harrington (violin), John Sherba (violin), Hank Dutt (viola) and Sunny Yang (cello) combine a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience.

In the process, Kronos has become one of the world’s most celebrated and influential ensembles, performing thousands of concerts worldwide, releasing more than 50 recordings, collaborating with many of the world’s most eclectic composers and performers, and commissioning more than 800 works and arrangements for string quartet.

A Grammy winner, Kronos are also the only recipients of both the Polar Music Prize and the Avery Fisher Prize.


Kronos Quartet

Bryce Dessner / Aheym (Homeward) *

Terry Riley/ The Serquent RisadomeIrish premiere

Donnacha Dennehy / One Hundred Goodbyes (Céad Slán) *

                                    I.  Is Léan Liom (I grieve for you)

                                    II.  Tomás Bán (White Thomas)

                                    III.  Céad Slán Dhuit (A Hundred Goodbyes to You)

Geeshie Wiley (arr. Jacob Garchik) / Last Kind Words +

Laurie Anderson (arr. Jacob Garchik) / Flow +

Philip Glass/ String Quartet No. 6 *  Irish premiere in three movements



* Written for Kronos

+ Arranged for Kronos